The University confers Honorary Fellowships upon people in recognition of their significant commitment to the University and the wider community. It is the highest honour that the University can bestow. Honorary Fellowships are normally conferred at the University’s Annual Awards Congregation.

The University’s Board of Governors has agreed that nominations for Honorary Fellowships are open to persons from the local or the wider community and to any previous member of the University’s staff or Board of Governors. This is regardless of their academic qualifications, and is subject to those persons meeting the eligibility criteria which have been determined by the Board.

Nominees may be eligible in respect of the following criteria:
(i) Support of the interests of Wrexham University or of a particular part of the University’s activities.
(ii) Promotion of the academic purposes of the University.
(iii) Fostering of links between the University and other institutions regionally, nationally and internationally.
(iv) Contributed significantly to the local or the wider community or to a specific field, for example in music and the arts, science, business etc. 

The call for nominations is made annually for consideration by the Nominations and Governance Committee of the Board of Governors.

See the University’s current Honorary Fellows.

Nominate an Honorary Fellow

If you would like to nominate someone to receive an Honorary Fellowship from Wrexham University, please check the eligibility criteria above and click here to download a Honorary Fellow Nomination Form. Completed nomination forms should be sent to the Clerk to the Board of Governors, Nominations will be treated in the strictest confidence.

Procedure for consideration of Honorary Fellowships