Patrick was a student at Wrexham Glyndwr University from 2016-2020 whilst studying the BSc (Hons) Sport and Exercise Science and MRes Sport, Exercise and Health Science.

What were you doing before coming to Wrexham Glyndŵr University?

Worked as a full-time lifeguard

What attracted you to Wrexham Glyndŵr University?

The main reason I was attracted to Glyndŵr University was the hands-on approach from the lecturing team and the access to develop links with local organisations.

What was the atmosphere like around campus?

The atmosphere around campus was great, with a variety of different spaces for studying and unique events and activities across the university.

What did you enjoy most about your course?

You are never treated as just a number, staff go above and beyond to make the course beneficial to myself and other students, showing a breadth of knowledge in variety of areas, topics and sports.

What have you done since graduating?

Since graduating I have gone onto become a lecturer at a college (Reaseheath- in sport), as well as setting up two swimming business putting into practice what I learnt from the courses.

What was the support been like? 

Since leaving University I have had the plenty of contact with support staff when it came time to applying for jobs, looking over applications and also support from the lecturing team with useful contacts and even forwarding on suitable jobs.

How do you think you have benefited from studying at Wrexham Glyndŵr University?

I would never be in the role I am today without my time at Glyndwr. Also helped me develop soft skills which play a huge part in the working environment, aspects like group tasks and time management of tasks are additional key skills.

If you were to sum up your experience at Wrexham Glyndŵr University in one word, what would it be and why?

Opportunity- the opportunity to connect and link up with local teams/groups was absolutely phenomenal I had the opportunity to work with Mold rugby club and RGC without those opportunities I wouldn’t be where I am today.